Region 1-5A Boys Cross Country Preview

Last year: Boys 5A Results


2010 projected Individual Winner: Craig Lutz


Top Runners who is leaving due to graduation/realignment: 7 out of the top 10 athletes from last year are gone. Connor Adams, Neal Smith, Nathan Parker, Jeff Arnier, Juan Sanchez, John Valentine, and Isaac Plancencia


Top Runners in the top 10 last year returning: A strong group of return this year including defending champion Craig Lutz. Lutz ran the 2nd fastest time in a decade on the Mae Simmons course last year covering the 3 mile course in 14:37. Will he take the record from Colby Lowe (14:25.96) this year? Also returning is cross country standout Donovan Torres. Jonathan Wyatt also returns placing 10th last year in this region.


Who are to top returners?: Want to find out where you stand in region 1-5A?   Top 100 Individuals


Top Freshman Returners who might make a splash: 2 Freshman from last year really stand out in my mind that might turn the corner this year and make a huge impact on this region. They are Trevor Gilley and Nokolai Horbovetz. Trevor had a solid cross country campaign last year on the cross country course but he really shined in track running 4:18/9:57 on the track. Nokolai continued to get better into his track season running 4:33/9:55.  View Complete List of 2013 Graduates


Top Seniors Recruits: Here is my list of the top recruits coming out of this region this year.  Top 100 Seniors (2011)


District Breakdown:  5A District 1 - 5A District 2 - 5A District 3 - 5A District 4 - 5A District 5 - 5A District 6 - 5A District 7 - 5A District 8


ATHLETE ALERT: Keep an eye out for Troy Taylor He had a very good season last year but was just outside of the elites. He posted a quiet 9:39 on the track last season. 




NOT OFFICIAL RECORDS. These stats are according to our database.
HS F Two Mile Run (more)
10:49.00 Erin Bedell Plano West 2004
11:03.00 Miranda Walker Southlake Carroll 2004
11:04.20 Rachel Johnson Plano 2009
11:07.40 Monique Ortega El Paso Montwood 2001
11:07.90 Mindy Sullivan Lubbock Coronado Mustangs 2001
HS M Three Mile Run (more)
14:25.96 Colby Lowe Southlake Carroll 2007
14:37.00 Craig Lutz Marcus 2009
14:47.00 Scott MacPherson Plano 2004
14:55.00 Jake Morse Arlington 2003
14:57.34 Craig Lutz Marcus 2007