Watch Kevin Bello And Elijah Ferguson Run 46-low 400m Battle

Katy ISD competitors Kevin Bello (L) and Elijah Ferguson (R) battled in the 400m finals at the UIL 19-6 & 20-6A Area Championships

- - -

There were several events to keep track and field fans entertained at the UIL 19-6A & 20-6A Area Championships. However, one that was worth the price of admissions was the boys 400m finals.

It featured round two of a couple of the best quarter milers in the country.

Ranked TX No. 2 and US No. 5, Kevin Bello (Katy Cinco Ranch) came in after just running his best mark last week at 46.49 at the UIL 6A - District 19 meet. In that very same race, Elijah Ferguson (Katy Mayde Creek) ran to his  TX No. 3 and US No. 7 46.62.

Today, the Katy ISD products clashed for the second straight race. It's end result was another lifetime best for both Bello and Ferguson.

2024 UIL 19-6A and 20-6A Area Championship boys 400m finals

1   Kevin Bello            Katy Cinco Ranch      46.04
2   Elijah Ferguson        Katy Mayde Creek      46.18
3   Todd Woods Fort        Bend Elkins           47.72
4   Mason Brantley         Fort Bend Crawford    48.26
5   Christian Morcho       Ridge Point           49.48
6   Anthony Aileru         Katy Mayde Creek      50.02
7   Tylan Govan            Katy Morton Ranch     51.49
--  Tyler Kleinpeter Jr   Fort Bend Clements    DNS

Bello, again captured the victory, but it wasn't until the waning moments of the one-lap race. 

Ferguson ran out to a quick early lead, putting the pressure on the entire field. He led all of the way through the 300m mark when Bello began inch closer with every powerful stride as he pulled even in the race with about 50 meters remaining.

In the end, Bello decelerated slower than Ferguson to net the win in a new top Texas mark of 46.04 with Ferguson close in tow at 46.18. Bello also added a 100m win in 10.45 (+2.4) and runner-up in the 200m with a time of 21.07 (-.09).

The two are now ranked No. 2 and No. 3 nationally and will get to race it out again at the Region 3-6A Championships on April 19-20 at Turner Stadium in Humble, Texas.