Aleksandr Acuna At 14:58, Deer Creek Get Boys Coach T Wins

Aleksandr Acuna grabs the 2023 Marcus Coach T Inv. with a 14:58 PR

- - -

Aleksandr Acuna didn't have to travel far to compete Saturday morning and that may have played a big part to his life time best performance.

The Denton Braswell junior ran a 14:58 to win the Marcus Coach T Invitational. That is a personal best and improved his 15:09 previous PR that he ran on this exact same course at last year's UIL 6A - District 5 meet. Acuna also ran 15:33 earlier in the year on the exact same course layout at the Braswell Little D Invitational

Acuna's development is exhibited by the improvement in time on the same course. It also shows his confidence in competing on this course. He led from the beginning as he took control of the race that included last year's winner Angel Sanchez (Fort Worth Diamond Hills-Jarvis) who won this race in 14:58 last season. It also had Max Miller (Prosper) who ran an impressive 14:26 win seven days earlier at the Southlake Inv. #1.

Graham Mitchell (Deer Creek, OK) runs towards the finish line at the 2023 Coach T Inv.

Graham Mitchell (Deer Creek, Edmond, OK) was the runner-up behind Acuna. The Oklahoma star held off several hard charging runnings including Alexander Niemiec (Canyon), Toby Eaton (Mansfield Legacy), and Deer Creek teammate Brody Woodcock.

Elite Varsity Boys 5k

1	Aleksandr Acuna	11	Denton Braswell	14:58.6	1
2	Graham Mitchell	12	Deer Creek High School	15:09.1	2
3	Alexander Niemiec	12	Canyon	15:12.4	3
4	Toby Eaton	12	Mansfield Legacy	15:12.9	(n/s)
5	Brody Woodcock	12	Deer Creek High School	15:15.7	4

Mitchell and Woodcock helped Deer Creek win the team event ahead of Niemiec's Canyon Squad. Deer Creek was fourth last year at the Oklahoma 6A state meet, but leaves Denton with the team win.

The victory was captured over the 2022 UIL 4A state champion Canyon who finished runner-up 71<147. Last year's UIL 6A third place finisher Coppell placed third with 162 points scored.