Trooper Twilight Invitational Meet Recap

 - - -

Week 4 of the cross country season has concluded in El Paso and some of the best teams in the city competed at the Trooper Twilight Invitational this past weekend. The meet had a big time feel to it with a finish that was very reminiscent to that of the well known Desert Twilight Meet in Arizona. It was a very well balanced flat course which produced some solid times. This criteria is what attracted some of the best runners in the city. "The goal is to put on a meet that will allow El Paso runners to really showcase their talent and also provide an opportunity for the fans to get really excited for," Coach McLain of Eastwood said when designing the course. And it didn't disappoint.

The first race of the day was the Combined Freshman Boys and Girls division. For the Boys, the winner of the race was Sebastian Camacho of El Paso Franklin with a time of 19:09.55. Following Camacho were two Eastwood runners, Jonah Herd who placed second running a time of 19:32.03, and Isaac Marquez who placed third with a time of 19:37.46. On the Girls' side, Malia Dematteo from Franklin won the race with a time of 24:17.88. Similar to the boys' race, two Eastwood runners followed. Alessandra Caro placed second, ran a time of 24:43.48 and Itzel Puertas finished third with a time of 24:55.31.

The following race was the Open Girls. The Franklin girls' squad placed 1-4 with junior Breckyn Wiebe leading the group with a time of 21:48.22. Junior Hannah Martinez followed, running a time of 21:57.19. Senior Kayla Hicks closely followed and placed third with a time of 21:57.29. Junior Brooke McCune came in fourth running a time of 22:21.83

The next race was the Open Boys. Again, similar to the Open Girls Division, Franklin went 1-4. The boys' squad was led by senior Oscar Guzman running a time of 17:49.96. Senior Austen Percifull placed second with a time of 18:00.76. Sophomore Ethan Fontaine placed third running a time of 18:05.46. Junior Gabriel Uranga came next placing fourth and running a time of 18:14.89.

The Varsity Girls race came next. Two superstar freshmen from Franklin won the race with Abigail Pinon leading with a time of 19:56.78. Emily Orr came in next, running a time of 20:02.95. Eastwood's Adelynn Rodriguez placed third with a time of 20:04.83. 

The final race of the night was the Varsity Boys. Coronado's Luis Pastor won the race running a time of 15:56.36. Daniel Romero of Tornillo placed second with a time of 16:20.50. Diego Flores from Franklin placed third running a time of 16:24.04.

Honorable Mention:

Freshman Boys:

Robert Huerta, El Paso High, 21:08.79

Freshman Girls:

Angelina Alvarez , El Paso Burges, 25:22.32

Open Girls:

Valentina Tarriba, Freshman, El Paso Socorro, 23:29.37

Open Boys:

Luis Marquez, Sophomore, San Elizario, 19:13.40

Varsity Girls:

Andrea Castillo, Junior, El Paso High, 21:16.03

Varsity Boys:

Edgar Valles, Junior, El Paso Coronado, 16:57.51